Minutes: City of Sheboygan Board Police & Fire Commissioners

The Board of Police and Fire Commissioners of the City of Sheboygan met on Wednesday, February 24, 2010. This meeting was held in the Sheboygan Fire Headquarters at 1326 N. 25th Street. President John Webster called the meeting to order at 4:33 pm.

In attendance: President: John Webster, Secretary: Andrew Hopp, Commissioner Angela Sutkiewicz, and Commissioner Bill Gottsacker. Commissioner Richard Suscha excused. Also present; Fire Chief Jeff Hermann, Police Chief Christopher Domagalski, and Tom Rice, the acting Director of Human Resources.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Approval of 1-6-2010 Meeting Minutes: Commissioner Hopp moved and Commissioner Webster seconded to approve the minutes as submitted. The motion passed by unanimous vote.

President Webster opened the floor for Chief Hermann to handle some routine matters. Per Chief Hermann's request President Webster made a motion to extend the hiring list already in place for a period of one additional year. Seconded by Commissioner Gottsacker, motion passed by unanimous vote.

President Webster opened the floor for Chief Domagalski to handle some routine matters. Chief Domagalski asked the commission to proceed with interviews to create a new hiring list. The Commission discussed a date that would work for all and decided to meet March 19th for the interviews.

Motion by President Webster and seconded by Commissioner Gottsacker to convene in closed session under the exemption provided in Wisconsin State Statute §19.85(1)(c) Considering employment, promotion, compensation or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility for: SFD Promotions and SFD Disciplinary action(s). Motion passed unanimously.

CIOSED SESSION

Commission reconvened in open session.

Motion by Commissioner Angela Sutkiewicz to promote Charles Butler to the position of Deputy Chief, Gary Kohlberg to Shift Commander, and Lieutenants Irish, Koch and Sorens to the position of captain. Second by Commissioner Hopp. Promotions are effective as of January 1, 2010. Motion passed by unanimous vote.

Commissioner Hopp moved and Commissioner Webster seconded a motion to adjourn. Motion passed unanimously.